Header logo is

Institute News

Article published in Frontiers in Neurorobotics

  • 10 July 2019

Huanbo's paper 'Machine Learning for Haptics: Inferring Multi-Contact Stimulation From Sparse Sensor Configuration' was successfully published!

Huanbo Sun Georg Martius

REG visits Montréal

  • 08 July 2019

This summer Montréal will be the stage for three important conferences concerning research in the fields of psychology, cognitive science, machine learning, cognitive modelling and decision making: the 4th Multidisciplinary Conference on Reinforcement Learning and Decision Making (RLDM), the 52nd Annual Meeting of the Sociey for Mathematical Psychology and the 17th Annual Meeting of the International Conference on Cognitive Modelling (MathPsych/ICCM), and the 41st Annual Meeting of the Cognitive Science Society (CogSci). As a matter of course, the Rationality Enhancement Group will be represented there as well.

Falk Lieder Maria Wirzberger Florian Mohnert Yash Raj Jain Lin Xu Gabriela Iwama

Professor Ayusman Sen receives Humboldt Research Award

  • 08 July 2019

During his stay in Germany, the Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Pennsylvania State University intends to continue his research on emergent phenomena, collective effects, and enzymatically-powered chemical motors.

Siegfried Dietrich Linda Behringer

Kai Melde wins the 2019 Günter Petzow Prize

  • 05 July 2019

The doctoral student in the Micro, Nano, and Molecular Systems Group received this prize during the 2019 Intelligent Systems Summer Colloquium

Katherine J. Kuchenbecker Kai Melde Peer Fischer Linda Behringer

NeurIPS2019 Disentanglement Challenge kicks off - Bringing Disentanglement to the Real World

  • 03 July 2019

Registration opened on June 28 and the Challenge runs until September 24.

The Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, GoogleAI, and MILA Montreal have launched the Disentanglement Challenge. Registration is now open: sign up now and bring disentangled representations to the REAL world - with 20,000 euros in prize money and best paper awards!

Joel Bessekon Akpo Stefan Bauer Karin Bierig Muhammad Waleed Gondal Arash Mehrjou Bernhard Schölkopf Valentin Volchkov Francesco Locatello Manuel Wüthrich Djordje Miladinovic

Katherine J. Kuchenbecker appointed Managing Director of the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

  • 03 July 2019

The Director of the Haptic Intelligence Department is the first female Managing Director in the institute’s history.

Dr. Kuchenbecker's term is set to last 18 months, effective July 1, 2019.

Katherine J. Kuchenbecker Bernhard Schölkopf Valerie Callaghan

Jellyfish-inspired robot wins Best Paper Award in prestigious Robotics Science & Systems Conference

  • 02 July 2019

The scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems in Stuttgart who invented Jellyfishbot win the Best Paper Award at a prestigious robotics conference and have their work published in Nature Communications. Their research holds great potential when investigating the impact of environmental changes in the ocean’s ecosystem. Another aim is for Jellyfishbot to be applied in the treatment of cancer.

Metin Sitti Xiaoguang Dong Wenqi Hu Ziyu Ren Tianlu Wang Linda Behringer Valerie Callaghan

Scope of Cyber Valley research expanded to include intelligent biomedical microsystems

  • 01 July 2019

The University of Stuttgart appoints Dr. Tian Qiu, a leading scientist in the field of minimally invasive biomedical microsystems, as Cyber Valley Research Group Leader

Tian Qiu Linda Behringer Valerie Callaghan

Körber Prize 2019 goes to Bernhard Schölkopf

  • 26 June 2019

The Körber Foundation honors the MPI-IS Director and Cyber Valley Scientist for his ground-breaking research in mathematical methods that have made a significant contribution to helping artificial intelligence reach its most recent heights.

Bernhard Schölkopf Valerie Callaghan

Novel approach to self-assembling mobile micromachines

  • 25 June 2019

How the components come together depends on their design and shape and the resulting dielectrophoretic forces when exposed to an electric field.

Metin Sitti Yunus Alapan Mehmet Berk Yigit Linda Behringer